EPPA Conference

EPPA Final Conference (3-5 September 2018, Lausanne, Switzerland)

The EPPA Conference took place in Lausanne on the occasion of the 2018 EGPA Annual Conference in close collaboration with the European Group for Public Administration (EGPA) and IDHEAP (L'Institut de hautes études en administration publique).

The seminar started  on Monday afternoon, September 3, 2018 with a special session in collaboration with the EGPA PhD Symposium. On Tuesday September 4, 2018 until Wednesday noon, September 5, 2018 the project leader Geert Bouckaert held a keynote speech followed by four sessions on "PA and Futures", "PA and Disciplines", "PA and Cultures" and "PA and Practice" and a concluding session organized as panel discussion addressing the way forward of the EPPA initiative.


Tuesday, September 4, 2018                          Seminar venue: IDHEAP Campus, IDHEAP 5
11.00 - 12:001. Session

Welcome: Werner Jann

Keynote:Geert Bouckaert

12.00 - 13.30Lunch
13.30 - 15.002. Session

PA and Futures

  • Geert Bouckaert, KU Leuven
  • Paul Joyce, University of Birmingham
  • Commentator: Meelis Kitsing, Foresight Centre, Tallinn
15.00 - 15.30Coffee
15.30 - 17.003. Session

PA and Disciplines

  • Tiina Randma, Tallinn University of Technology
  • Martin Burgi, LMU Munich
  • Commentator: Lotte Jensen, Copenhagen Business School
17.30 - 18.00Refreshments
18.00 - 19.304. Session

PA and Practice

  • Göttrik Wewer, Former Permanent Secretary,Germany
  • Raffaella Saporito, University Bocconi, Milano
  • Commentator: Külli Sarapuu, Tallinn University of Technology
20.00Walking DinnerVenue: IDHEAP Campus
Wednesday, September 5, 2018                            Seminar venue: IDHEAP Campus, IDHEAP 5
08.30 - 10.005. Session

PA and Cultures

  • Bogdana Neamtu, Babes Bolyai University, Cluj Napoca
  • Andreas Ladner, UNIL, IDHEAP, Lausanne
  • Commentator: Kai Wegrich, Hertie School of Governance, Berlin
10.00 - 10.30Coffee
10.30 - 12.006. Session

Venue: IDHEAP Aula

Summing Up - The Way Forward


  • IIAS President: Geert Bouckaert, KU Leuven
  • EGPA President: Edoardo Ongaro, Open University UK
  • NISPACee President: György Hajnal, Corvinus University of Budapest and Centre for Social Research of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences
  • US-Minnowbrook: Tina Nabatchi, Maxwell School, Syracuse University

further information

logistical note